Rapping about Alexander Hamilton

While watching Portlandia the other night – at times hilarious and at other times ridiculous and overly-self-conscious – I came across Aimee Mann, who plays a housekeeper in at least one of the episodes. I’m not sure if she has a recurring role cause I’ve only watched a few episodes. Anyway, she’s awesome and so I started youtubing her. One of her videos is of her performing at the White House during some kind of poetry workshop. As is the tendency while on youtube, after watching a capital version of “save me,” I went on to see what other sweet acts Obama’s team had brought to the House. And I found this song by Lin-Manuel Miranda. Which is the sweetest thing I’ve heard in a while.

And then I found this piece by Joshua Bennett.

If you keep searching you can also find the inimitable and sublime Esperanza Spaulding.

There are at least two lessons here – besides the obvious one, don’t shoot Alexander Hamilton. (1) Internet is awesome and (2) whoever is in charge of bringing artists to the White House knows what they’re doing.

This entry was posted in a life trainer for extraordinary circumstances, random, US and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

